10 Things to Give Up Right Now If You Want to Be Happy

#truelove #allowing #dating

GPS for the Soul – The Huffington Post
10 Things to Give Up Right Now If You Want to Be Happy
As spring kicks in, seasons change and sometimes habits do as well. I started a personal fear cleanse and completely overhauled my life, starting with removing thought patterns, people and habits that no longer serve me. The results have been tremendous. I have lost weight, gained self-confidence and self-love. My career is flourishing, and I am more present and peaceful in every area of my life. This “fear detox” started with the removal of 10 things that were holding me back.

If you want to be happy and healthy consider giving up these 10 things now.

1. Believing other people’s opinions of you matter:
What other people say to you or about you has nothing to do with you. The only thing you need to focus on is your own opinion of yourself, and work on making it a great one.

2014-03-17-1847969712.jpg

Image Getty Images

2. Thinking that you are a noun:
You are more than just your job title, the number on the scale, or your relationship status. Start celebrating you, for all of your fascinating traits, habits, qualities and unique layers.

2014-03-17-86527857.jpg


3. Talking badly about yourself to yourself and others:

Start to see yourself the way your furry friend sees you. You are perfect just as you are.

2014-03-17-77005633.jpg

4. Giving up on your dreams too soon:
Life is way too short for you to settle. Your dreams matter. Follow the nudges from your heart, you won’t regret it.

2014-03-17-6fbdbe2c27a8df7b8749228882b6a89f.jpg

5. Focusing on the reasons instead of results:
Stop wasting time thinking about how or why it won’t work and start to look at the tangible results. When we can appreciate the good we get more good.

2014-03-17-100417475.jpg

6. Working too hard:
If you are working too hard you might not trust the process. Stop trying so hard to make things happen and start playing more. You may blow yourself away when you see how productive you become.

2014-03-17-170630911.jpg

7. Comparing yourself to others:
Stop comparing yourself to others because there is only one of you.

2014-03-17-WomanWrinklesInMirror850x567.jpg

8. Setting others success as your benchmark:
If you are looking to others for what is possible you are limiting yourself. Dream even bigger and give yourself permission to soar.

2014-03-17-166578139.jpg

9. Ignoring your body’s needs:
Is it time for a detox? Do you want to go to the gym? Your body is always talking to you, check in often and ask yourself what it needs and listen to it.

2014-03-17-168421660.jpg

10. Settling:
Stop settling and accepting only what you think you can get. It is time to own your true worth and step up to the plate called your life. Don’t settle for anything, anyone or any place. Your future self will thank you. Repeat this manta: “I do not settle.”

2014-03-17-167167350.jpg

Brené Brown Explains The Importance Of Laughter In ORIGIN Magazine
The following is an excerpt from ORIGIN Magazine.

Interviewer: Chantal Pierrat

Chantal Pierrat: On your website, you have a business card that says “Researcher. Storyteller.” And those are not two concepts that normally go together.
Brené Brown: Yeah, let me tell you something about the whole story about the “Researcher. Storyteller” label. I used that to open my TEDx Houston talk and it was something I really hated. Someone was trying to advertise an event where I was speaking and she said, “Hey, I don’t know how to describe you.” And I said, “Just tell them what I do.” And she said, “Well, I was going to say you’re a researcher, but that’s really boring. And then I was going to say you’re a storyteller.” And I was like, oh my god, don’t ever use the word “storyteller” close to my name.

I’m an academic. What are you going to call me, an enchanted drummer on a magic pixie? No. And so it has taken me years to get comfortable with that. But the truth is, I’m a storyteller. And it scares me, because my training as an academic is that the more accessible you are and the more human you are, the less smart you are. It’s a shame trigger for me to be honest. When you don’t put your initials behind your name, and I’ve got tons of them, and when you talk about storytelling or love or gratitude, you’re diminishing your legitimacy and importance in this world.

So it’s been a lot of work for me just to kind of own it and say, I am a storyteller and a researcher, and I’m sorry the world has a hard time straddling the tension of those two things, but that’s who I am. I think a lot of us are multiple things that don’t always fit together neatly in a bio box. And I think that’s the authenticity piece. The truth is, fifth generation Texan? I come from a long line of storytellers. It’s in my DNA.

CP: You’re really funny — you make people laugh. I’m curious: how do you think humor fits into your work?
BB: I’m a huge fan of the poet Billy Collins. I heard him say, “Humor is the door to the serious.” I think that shame is a universal, paralyzing, painful emotion. The only universal language I know of that wraps up joy and gratitude and love is laughter. And so I believe in the healing power of laughter. I believe laughter forces us to breathe. I think laughter between people is a holy form of connection, of communion. It’s the way you and I look at each other and without words, say, I get exactly what you’re saying. And so, it’s important to me.

CP: It’s also disarming.
BB: I agree. The laughter that happens when people are truth-telling and showing up and being real — I call that “knowing laughter.” That’s what happens between people when we recognize the absurdity of the belief that we’re alone in anything. If there’s a feeling you have, other people have it. If there’s something weird about your life, other people have lived it. If there’s something kooky about your body, other people have that, too. We’re not alone. There’s some kind of tremendous relief in that and I think it can only be expressed in belly laughter. This tremendous relief that happens the millisecond we realize, it’s not just me. That’s what good laughter is about. It’s about knowing that you’re not alone.

origin ORIGIN is the conscious culture national print magazine bringing together art, yoga, music, humanitarianism, and sustainability to shift the planet for good. Twenty percent of our editorial is donated to nonprofits impacting the planet. You can find ORIGIN in Whole Foods, Barnes and Noble, Pharmacas, Central Markets and 15+ other National retailers.

Relationships News — ScienceDaily
Fake laughter doesn’t fool the brain, research reveals
As the world celebrates International Day of Happiness today (Thursday, 20 March), can we tell whether people are truly happy just from their laugh? “During our study, when participants heard a laugh that was posed, they activated regions of the brain associated with mentalizing in an attempt to understand the other person’s emotional and mental state,” the authors state.

Subliminal hypnosis: sports hypnosis, weight loss hypnosis, mental health hypnosis, and 40 different topics hypnosis at Amazon.com, full catalog    http://amzn.to/VGoe0Y photo 2163_zps044fb03b.jpg

Leave a Reply

