6 Daily Rituals You Can’t Afford to Skip

#truelove #allowing #dating

GPS for the Soul – The Huffington Post
6 Daily Rituals You Can’t Afford to Skip
1. A morning routine.
Some people enjoy reading the paper and drinking a quiet cup of coffee, while others use this time to go for a run or exercise at the gym. A few simple minutes of food prep the night before, and setting the alarm for as little as 10 minutes earlier, will help set the right pace for your morning.

2. Prayer and/or meditation.
Studies have shown that regular mediation and/or prayer, can positively affect your heart and benefit your mind. Taking a five-minute break at the office, or taking a walk around the building to clear your mind is a daily indulgence that isn’t expensive or caloric.

3. Family rituals.
You don’t do your best work when you are feeling guilty and distracted. These feelings often come from grabbing nightly fast food for dinner, skipping after school performances and sports, and missing important parent/teacher conferences due to working late. Even if your nightly dinner is reheated leftovers from the weekend, rather than drive thru fries and a soda, it “feels” better to be in control of what you are serving your family. This is where a concise calendar and time management system can be very important. A schedule of meals and meetings is less overwhelming when you can look at it, and helps you to plan out your week accordingly.

4. Commitment to perform at a high standard during the day.
We often go through the day by the seat of our pants, counting the hours until it’s time to clock out and go home. Rather than responding and reacting to whatever is tossed your way throughout the day, make a concerted effort to efficiently handle the daily minutia, and occupy the remainder of the work day thinking beyond what is in front of you, and creating a job you will look forward to coming to, day after day. Take a good look at what you need in order to excel and don’t be afraid to ask your boss for the tools and training you will need to be your best as an employee.

5. Staying connected to friends.
Designate a few minutes every day to contact one friend you owe a call, or feel guilty for not speaking with in a while. Deliver a quick “I’m thinking of you” message, send an email or text a friend to let them know they are in your thoughts. Just a friendly check in is more than a valiant effort for most of us. Your core friends will understand that you don’t have 30 minutes to talk every day, and normally don’t expect daily conversations. Schedule a lunch or go out to dinner with a group of friends once a month to catch up.

6. An evening power down.
Going strong all day leaves little time for communicating with your spouse, working with your kids on homework, or even taking a leisurely bath. While the bath may be a luxury, making time to check in with the people in your home is a necessity in order to continue to build strong relationships. Asking three simple questions, “What did you eat for lunch?”, “Have you talked to your mom?”, “What would you like for dinner tomorrow?” indicates you are present and interested in the other person. Create your own list of questions, but make a nightly attempt to communicate. Stay away from your email and off of social media for the last few hours of your day, dedicating it your family and yourself. You will find you have a few extra minutes without that last post, tweet or Instagram pic.

I publish weekly business etiquette articles on my blog, including topics such as interview etiquette, technology etiquette, email etiquette, and everyday social etiquette topics. Connect with me here on the Huffington Post, follow me on Pinterest and “like” me on Facebook at Protocol School of Texas.

Everything You Need To Know About Happiness, According To Song Lyrics
Achieving happiness is one of our greatest aims as human beings, and we’ll spend the majority of our lives working to pursue it in some form or another.

Research has proven that being happy is a choice that we can make. But how exactly do we define that happiness? Is it the actions we take to get there, or how we feel once we arrive?

It turns out everything we may need to know about finding a state of bliss could be hiding in the music we hear on our radios. Over the years, artists have carefully crafted lyrics that strive to capture that elated feeling. Check out the nine songs below, which all poetically detail what it truly means to be content.

According to these lyrics, happiness is…

…being grateful for what’s right in front of you.
happy

“Got my dreams, got my life, got my love
Got my friends, got the sunshine above
Why am I making this hard on myself
When there’s so many beautiful reasons I have to be happy”
–“Happy” by Natasha Bedingfield

…being with the people you love.
“I can’t see me lovin’ nobody but you
For all my life
When you’re with me, baby the skies’ll be blue
For all my life

Me and you and you and me
No matter how they toss the dice, it has to be
The only one for me is you, and you for me
So happy together”
–“Happy Together” by The Turtles

…appreciating the simple things.
happy

“May be a simple life but that’s okay
If you ask me baby I think I got it made
‘Cause I got a roof over my head
The woman I love layin’ in my bed
And it’s alright, alright
I got shoes under my feet
Forever in the eyes staring back at me
And it’s alright, alright
Yeah, I got all I need and it’s alright by me”
–“Alright” by Darius Rucker

…personal, yet universal.
happy dancing gifs

“Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do”
–“Happy” by Pharrell Williams

…letting go of what’s troubling us.
“In every life we have some trouble
When you worry you make it double
Don’t worry, be happy”
–“Don’t Worry Be Happy” by Bobby McFerrin

…found when you least expect it.
happy

“Happiness is like the old man told me
Look for it, but you’ll never find it all
Let it go, live your life and leave it
Then one day, wake up and she’ll be home”
–“Happiness” by The Fray

…knowing that pursuing dreams isn’t always easy, but it’s worth it.
work success

“I’m on the pursuit of happiness
And I know everything that shine ain’t always gonna be gold
I’ll be fine once I get it
I’ll be good”
–“Pursuit Of Happiness” by Kid Cudi

…not in your material possessions.
“And you ask me what I want this year
And I try to make this kind and clear
Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days
Cause I don’t need boxes wrapped in strings
And designer love and empty things
Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days”
–“Better Days” by The Goo Goo Dolls

…life coming full circle.
happy circle

“It takes a thought to make a word
And it takes some words to make an action
It takes some work to make it work
It takes some good to make it hurt
It takes some bad for satisfaction
La la la la la la la life is wonderful”
–“Life Is Wonderful” by Jason Mraz

Any songs that we missed? Share your favorite happiness songs in the comments below.

Subliminal hypnosis: sports hypnosis, weight loss hypnosis, mental health hypnosis, and 40 different topics hypnosis at Amazon.com, full catalog    http://amzn.to/VGoe0Y photo 2163_zps044fb03b.jpg

Leave a Reply

